To Recipe or Not to Recipe…That is the Question!

Did you ever hear someone comment on someone else’s cooking and exclaim, “…and she doesn’t even use a recipe!” There seems to be a lot of pride taken in that statement as if food is always better sans recipe.

As a former professional seamstress I used to have a lot of people ask me if I use patterns, and then they would sigh disappointedly when I replied, yes, pretty much always. I do not mean to be disrespectful or condescending when I say this, but as a many decades experienced seamstress, their reaction only served to show their general ignorance of the seam-stressing world. Not ignorance as in stupid, just lack of knowing the art of sewing. Patterns exist for a reason, and a good one. Because people out there have put a lot of time and effort into sizing, proportioning, and fine tuning a pattern that will actually work and fit a person when it is done. I have pulled numerous “my-own-patterns” off Pinterest only to ruin pieces of fabric because someone took pride in not using a pre-made pattern, and it did not work, or fit, at all! Have I created my own patterns myself? Certainly, and some good ones. But that takes a lot of time and effort, not to mention certain specific skill sets.

So, back to recipes. Recipes exist for a reason, because they have been tried and tested. I make many things without using recipes, but I do not scorn the recipe when it is needed. Here’s where this really came home to me. My Mom made a lot of foods with no recipes; in fact most of the things she made. They were always delicious. But here’s what happened. As she got older she simply forgot how she made some things. She meant to make them the same but just could not remember. I waited way too long to ask about some of the things she made and now those “recipes” do not exist. She could never tell me in full how she had made them, so now they are lost.

I finally took the time to get down on paper how I make certain family recipes. Like plain old chicken noodle soup. No one would ever be able to recreate it unless they have written down how I make it. And I’m honest enough to admit that parts of my memory will go to the same place my Mom’s did, and there will be a time when I just can’t remember how I did it. But I will now have that down on paper…at least the basics…so I can continue to make my usual delicious chicken noodle soup, that will always taste the same, right up until I can no longer hold a spoon.

To recipe or not to recipe?…BOTH!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Recipe or Not to Recipe…That is the Question!

  1. Jenny Baker says:

    I completely agree! There is nothing wrong with a good recipe, pattern or tool. On the other hand, sometimes my kids ask me to whip something up in my cauldron (big soup pot) and they are wanting something new and random, and they usually get it, based on what leftovers we have lol. There is enjoyment in both 🙂 Thanks for sharing Suzzee!

  2. Sara says:

    I totally need recipes! Even for simple stuff. I’m glad you write them down. That way, when I have the chance to do more cooking myself, I’ll have a better chance of it turning out good! lol

  3. Greg says:

    One of the best things Faith and I ever did with regard to food was to record all the Roselle family recipes into a family cookbook before her grandparents passed. Our Christmas gifts to every aunt and uncle that year were spiral bound cookbooks with special cover artwork by Hannah. We still reference ours nearly every single week.

    • sseifert7 says:

      I LOVE that! I have a family recipe file going for Sara, and now Jordy wants me to start one for her as well. This is a really funny story that you’ll appreciate Greg. A neighbor lady gave me some zucchini relish that she claimed was Betty Darling’s famous zucchini relish. Then another lady in our church did the same. Neither one were anything remotely like Gramma D’s relish! I don’t think Mom gave them her REAL recipe! I think she gave them a bogus one to preserve her own!

      • Miriam Swartley says:

        I remember going over to Gramma D’s several summers in a row to help make relish. I came armed with the Warren Center church cookbook b/c her recipe was listed there . . . but she did not follow what was written!! The ingredients were the same (pretty much – she would use however many and whatever color of peppers she had) but she did not follow the process written! I don’t think it was intentional (I asked). I sometimes have trouble when telling someone how to make something, a process or step may be so routine I don’t realize that I do it. Maybe that was the case for Gramma. Concerning the relish, I had to make notes as to what Gram actually did so that I would have this recipe. 🙂

      • sseifert7 says:

        Haha. Yeah, I did finally get her actual recipe out of her!

      • sseifert7 says:

        You’re right though. It probably wasn’t intentional. I guess I always wondered too if, when it came time to submit an actual recipe, she was worried that what she just threw together wouldn’t be good enough, so she just submitted the written recipe that she maybe started it all from. Anyway, I’m glad before she died some of us got the real scoop so we can make it, because hers is ten thousand times better than the recipe in the WC Church Cookbook! 😉 Believe me!

  4. Greg says:

    Haha, that’s awesome!

Leave a comment